Sep 22, 2021  
2011-2012 Undergraduate Catalog 
2011-2012 Undergraduate Catalog Archived Catalog

Computer Science and Engineering

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Engineering and Computer Science

Professor Joseph Kizza, Head


The Computer Science and Engineering program provides the B.S. degree in computer science. Computer science majors take at least a 46-hour sequence of computer science courses and take additional courses in an area of concentration. The concentration of study augments the computer science courses and is a specialization in which the student can apply his or her knowledge of computers. Four concentrations are available: Software Systems, Scientific Applications, UTeach, and Information Security and Assurance.

The Computer Science and Engineering program also supports the Engineering: Computer, B.S.E. program that is housed under engineering Engineering: Computer . The Computer Science and Engineering department designs, staffs, and maintains the computer engineering courses and advises the program students.

Program Mission:

The Department of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga prepares students for productive and challenging careers in computer and information technology, and to function as leaders in a technological society. The department exists as the region’s principal resource for educational, research, continuing professional education, and service programs in computer science, computer engineering and information security and assurance. In these programs, emphasis is on communication and problem solving competencies, and on the applications of basic theory and design.

Program Objective:

Within three years after graduation, our students will be on successful career paths in computer science or closely related fields as evidenced by such items as employment and promotions in a computer science or related position, entry into graduate school, and continuing education in the field.

Admission to the Computer Science Program

Students entering UTC who intend to major in Computer Science should be enrolled as pre-majors. For admissions to the Computer Science program, pre-majors must have completed MATH 1720  and CPSC 1100  with minimum grades of C. Only after meeting the course completion requirements or obtaining a written waive from the Computer Science and Engineering department head will students be allowed to change their major to any of the Computer Science concentrations.

Program Accreditation:

The undergraduate Computer Science program concentration in Software Systems, Scientific Applications and Information Security and Assurance are accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission (CAC) of ABET Inc. (111 Market Place, Suite 1050, Baltimore, MD 21202-4012, Telephone: (410) 347-7700), the accrediting agency for computing programs.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Engineering and Computer Science