Jun 13, 2024  
2022-2023 Graduate Catalog 
2022-2023 Graduate Catalog Archived Catalog

The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

The University Mission

Accreditation and Memberships


Our Community


Family Eduaction Rights and Privacy ACt (FERPA)

Accreditation and Memberships

The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award baccalaureate, masters, and doctorate degrees. Questions about the accreditation of the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033-4097, by calling (404) 679-4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC’s website (www.sacscoc.org).

Oak Ridge Associated Universities

Since 1969, students and faculty of The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga have benefited from its membership in Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU). ORAU is a consortium of 98 colleges and universities and a contractor for the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) located in Oak Ridge, Tennessee. ORAU works with its member institutions to help their students and faculty gain access to federal research facilities throughout the country; to keep its members informed about opportunities for fellowship, scholarship, and research appointments; and to organize research alliances among its members.

Through the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE), the DOE facility that ORAU operates, undergraduates, graduates, postgraduates, as well as faculty enjoy access to a multitude of opportunities for study and research. Students can participate in programs covering a wide variety of disciplines including business, earth sciences, epidemiology, engineering, physics, geological sciences, pharmacology, ocean sciences, biomedical sciences, nuclear chemistry, and mathematics. Appointment and program length range from one month to four years. Many of these programs are especially designed to increase the numbers of underrepresented minority students pursuing degrees in science- and engineering-related disciplines. A comprehensive listing of these programs and other opportunities, their disciplines, and details on locations and benefits can be found in the ORISE Catalog of Education and Training Programs, which is available at http://www.orau.gov/orise/educ.htm, or by calling either of the contacts below.

ORAU’s Office of Partnership Development seeks opportunities for partnerships and alliances among ORAU’s members, private industry, and major federal facilities. Activities include faculty development programs such as the Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Awards, the Visiting Industrial Scholars Program, consortium research funding initiatives, faculty research and support programs as well as services to chief research officers.

For more information about ORAU and its programs, contact:

  • Monnie E. Champion 
    ORAU Corporate Secretary (865-576-3306); or
  • Visit the ORAU Home Page (http://www.orau.org)


University Administration  

The University of Tennessee Board of Trustees 


The University of Tennessee Administration 




The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga Administration 

Steven R. Angle, B.A., M.S., Ph.D.


Jerold L. Hale, B.A., M.A., Ph.D.

Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

Vicki Farnsworth, B.S., M.S.

Vice Chancellor for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer

Tyler Forrest, B.S., M.B.A.

Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration

Yancy Freeman, B.S., M.P.A., Ph.D.

Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Management, Student Success and Student Affairs

Cassie Mathes, B.A., M.A.

Vice Chancellor for the Divisioin of Marketing and Communications

Joanne Romagni,  B.S., Ph.D.

Vice Chancellor for Research and Dean of the Graduate School

Kim White, B.A.

Vice Chancellor for Development and Alumni Affairs and Executive Director of University of Chattanooga Foundation Inc.

Mark Wharton, B.S., M.S.

Vice Chancellor and Director of Athletics


Pamela Riggs-Gelasco, B.A., Ph.D.

Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences

Robert S. Dooley, B.A., M.B.A., Ph.D.

Dean of the Gary W. Rollins College of Business

Daniel J. Pack, Ph.D.,P.E.

Dean of the College of Engineering and Computer Science

Valerie Rutledge, B.S., M.Ed., Ed.D.

Dean of the College of Health, Education and Professional Studies

Theresa Liedtka, B.S., M.L.S.

Dean of Libraries

Linda Frost, Ph.D.

Dean of the Honors College